Gravity

October 14, 2013 at 11:18 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


I don’t see movies in the theater often.  This is mostly because I’m cheap but not so cheap I don’t pay for Netflix, so I can watch movies when they hit DVD from the comfort of my own home.  With or without my pajamas.

The last movie I saw in theater was back in the spring when Jurassic Park was re-released in IMAX.  Scott and I splurged with that and it was so amazing I wanted to become an IMAX employee just so I could be somewhere near the greatness that was that film.  Seriously, it was totally worth it and if it ever comes back to IMAX you can bet your ass that my ass will be back in line for tickets.

Yup, I never want to be an astronaut.

This past weekend, we decided to splurge once again to check out the new Sandra Bullock/George Clooney film Gravity.  It was in 3D at the IMAX theater and again, it was definitely worth it.  The whole film takes place in outer space and the visuals are simply amazing.  I won’t give any spoilers but the basic premise revolves around the two characters who get severed from their ship when a bunch of space debris flies by and wrecks the primary way they have of getting home.  The movie was fast paced and extremely eerie…there were definitely a few times when I jumped in my seat and when I wasn’t jumping I was completely sitting on its edge.  I’ve never really had the desire to go to space, mostly because I think I would have a panic attack fueled by claustrophobia once I got out there.  This movie didn’t make me change my mind.  I also think my pulse was up enough during the entire hour and half it played that I got an additional workout.

Scott was kind of skeptical because he’s not the biggest George Clooney fan but even he was impressed with the movie.  I’ve been replaying bits and pieces in my head since we saw it and if it weren’t for the expensive ticket price I’d probably go see it again.  As I said though, I thought it was worth going at least once, if for no other reason than the fact it does make you feel like you’re lost in space.

That said, I do have one complaint.  Perhaps I’m getting too old or something but the entire movie (and especially the previews) was so LOUD!  I get that it’s a theater and an IMAX one at that, but it was almost painful.  During the previews I could see some people sitting near us being deafened too but luckily the movie seemed to get quieter.  Also, the movie had some moments of complete silence (because d’uh, it’s silent in space) and then you could basically hear how everyone in the theater was holding their breaths.

Other than that, two thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

