Thinking of Catsby

October 10, 2013 at 11:38 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )


It’s been two years since my best furry friend had to be put down while I was out of the country.  I still miss Catsby every day.  I miss her greeting me as soon as I came home and I miss playing fetch with the hair ties she’d steal from me and bring over while I sat on the couch.  I don’t miss giving her insulin shots or worrying constantly about her health but I’d do it all again in a heart beat if I could have her back.  I used to have some dreams where we played together but it’s been a while since I’ve had one of those.

RIP

RIP

I miss her companionship and the funny noises she would make that sounded like responses to my questions.  I miss the way a perfect black circle formed when she stood up straight and I miss her cuddling with me on the couch.

The Dude is a great cat and I love him but no animal could ever replace Catsby.  She was my only family member during my first, loneliest and most difficult year in Chicago and she was there for me through quite a lot of change.  She was also the first pet I got as a kitten and raised entirely on my own.  I will always regret I wasn’t there to properly say goodbye to her and I just hope she knew how much I absolutely loved her.

I miss you, Castby.

Leave a Reply

