Foodie Friday!

September 27, 2013 at 11:02 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Over the weekend, Scott and I had a friend of ours over for dinner (read: to help us finish some vegetables we had sitting around).  I made corn on the cob, green beans with red and yellow peppers, veggie burgers and mashed potatoes cauliflower.  It all turned out really well, especially the cauliflowers which I had never cooked that way before.  Here’s what I did:

Mmm vegetables

Mmm vegetables

The corn was easy enough and was just placed, husks and all, into the oven for about 35 minutes.  Veggie burgers were cooked on the stove top while the buns toasted in the oven and then we dressed them however we saw fit.  Mine included avocado, tomato, and a Chipotle may sauce that tied it all together.  The green beans were steamed with the peppers (which were originally frozen) and then mixed with some butter and garlic salt.  As for the mashed cauliflower, I steamed a whole head of it and then used a hand food processor to mash it all up.  I added 2 tablespoons of milk, garlic, salt, pepper, basil and red pepper flakes along with some butter and that was it!  It didn’t taste exactly liked potatoes but I didn’t really expect it to.  It was a healthy, tasty alternative and I was surprised at how easy and delicious it was.  My only complaint was that the head of cauliflower didn’t produce much of a serving size once all was said and done.  What’s featured in the pic is about the size of what all three of us had and we could’ve all had more.  Regardless, I was glad it worked and will be incorporating it into future meals!  Especially since Scott doesn’t really like cauliflower but he really enjoyed it prepared like this.

I really like making meals but it seems I run out of time during the week.  What did I have last night for dinner? Some veggie chicken nuggets and bean dip with way too many tortilla chips.  Oh well, that was good too!

1 Comment

  1. Espirational said,

    We love mashed cauliflower. I buy a lot of cauliflower — have different uses for it.

Leave a Reply

