Stacked

September 25, 2013 at 12:02 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


I spent some time in a nearby bookstore over the weekend and left not knowing exactly how I felt about it.  I love bookstores and perusing old and new volumes of books and I could lose myself for hours scanning shelves and stacks.  There are some good places for this nearby but the one I walked through this weekend was almost too full of books.  I know, I know, I didn’t think such a thing was possible either.  And maybe I’m just getting old or something but all I could think about was the shelves tipping over and smothering me in paper.  There would be worse ways to die but I didn’t really want to get smooshed, regardless.  My new-found paranoia could also stem from living with an electrician, because I was also concerned about the potential fire hazard of a giant room literally filled to the ceiling with books.

Heaven or hell?

Heaven or hell?

This photo doesn’t really do the place justice but there were so many shelves that I couldn’t take another step back to get a better picture.  Basically, books as far as the eye can see.  There were a handful of labels placed throughout but not enough to help because apparently digging around is half the fun.  Unless you’re looking for one specific book as I was, in which case it was slightly annoying.

I’m still torn on my feelings about this place.  I’m intrigued by what I could find so I know I’ll be back but I may just sport a hard-hat while I’m there!

Leave a Reply

