Tough Stuff

September 20, 2013 at 2:01 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


So, my little sister is kind of a badass.

For real.

She had surgery this week (nothing major, don’t you worry) and she had to spend two nights in the hospital.  Everything went well and she’s home now but dealing with a restricted diet and a couple of weeks off of work.  The only time I’ve ever spent in the hospital was when I was in second grade and had my tonsils taken out.  I was a huge baby for the entire ordeal.  Of course, that might have been because I was in the second grade but I honestly don’t think I’d handle things much better nowadays.  I had to go get an IV of fluids in college because I was really dehydrated one busy, hot summer and it was traumatic.  Same goes for when I walked into a pine tree (sober) and got a pine needle (which I’m allergic to) in my eye.  Whenever I’m sick or injured I revert back to childhood and just want my mommy.  Mom was there for my sister’s surgery but even if she hadn’t been, I think my sister would have handled things just fine.  She’s pretty strong and her ability to just get through whatever is thrown at her kind of amazes me.  She also actually works in a hospital, which is kind of crazy to me as well.  To think that she voluntarily enters one every day for hours on end…my mind can’t wrap around it.  I will avoid them like the plague (unless I somehow actually wind up with the plague) but that’s where she spends the majority of her time.  Come to think of it, she may also be a little crazy on top of being a badass.

I wish I could’ve been there for the whole procedure but I don’t have tons of vacation time, plus my sister assured me more than once that it wasn’t that big of a deal and everything would be fine.  Obviously, she was right but that still doesn’t mean that my thoughts haven’t been with her and I haven’t been worried the last few days.  I’m really glad she’s finally out of the hospital (though I’m sure not as glad as she is) and I’ll be heading home one weekend next month to visit.

Basically, I just wanted to say I think my sister is awesome and I’m glad she’s alright.  Even though she has the ability to drive me crazy and make me punch walls in the bathrooms of airports (yup, that’s happened), I’m still pretty fond of her and like having her around!

Leave a Reply

