Smoked Out

September 18, 2013 at 11:43 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


Do you know what an e-cigarette is?  I didn’t, until recently.  It’s a little electronic device that basically allows smokers to get their nicotine fix in environments where actual smoking wouldn’t be allowed.  The user emits a vapor of sorts that looks like smoke and the e-cigarettes have all kinds of flavors and scents.  They’re supposedly helpful to people who are trying to quit although they’re so new that there isn’t tons of research as to the long-term effects.

They are also extremely popular around our office.

The two dude-like bros I now share an office with both use these.  It kind of puts me in an awkward situation because they’re not banned and the boss knows they smoke them.  Others in the office smoke them too but those people don’t share a small office with a nonsmoker.  In order to keep the peace I typically keep my mouth shut but one day this week I had to finally say something.  The scent or flavor or whatever from their e-cigarettes was honestly making me nauseous and since the guys also insist on keeping our door shut, there wasn’t exactly much ventilation going on.  They were nice about it when I spoke up and we aired the room out for a bit but they were both puffing away within 30 minutes.

I just don’t see how this isn’t bad for you…

Okay, if you’re trying to quit smoking and use them to help wean you off it could be beneficial but when you sit in here and blow smoke all day every day, there has to be some sort of lasting effect.  I could complain to my boss but he would just tell me I could move back out to the cubicles and I’d rather deal with the smoke than do that.  Not that I absolutely love sharing this office all the time but it’s sort of the principal of the thing.  Plus, I still get a pretty cool view and I’m sitting in the chair and at the desk which used to belong to the founder of the firm, so there’s that.

Anyway one of the dude bros came in today complaining about how his throat was sore from all the smoking and he’s going to take a break.  Praise be!  Maybe it’ll rub off on the other one soon and I can once again work in a non-chemically treated, smokeless environment.

As a side note, both guys have been singing along to

that video all day.  At least it’s never boring around here…

Leave a Reply

