Business Lunches are Weird

September 13, 2013 at 1:46 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


So one of our clients came to the office this week to discuss some things with the boss.  He spent a good deal of time in my office as well, talking about everything from how exactly I do my job to the former Playboy bunny he used to be married too.  Yeah.  I thought he was finished with the meetings and left town yesterday but he walked back in today and invited the two sales guys for my program, myself and our IT consultant out to lunch.

Where was my martini?

To be honest, I didn’t really want to spend part of my afternoon rehashing things we’d already discussed this week buuuut…free lunch.  So I went.

I don’t do lunches like this often and I think I would have enjoyed it more if I’d had a cocktail or two.  Most of the discussion was shop talk and most of the talking was done by the guy who was treating us.  He was actually trying to pitch us some new ideas and services and while that’s not a bad thing, none of us are the ones who get to make the big decisions.  That all comes from the boss man himself, who was not present.  So there was basically a lot of nodding and smiling and “mmm-hmm”ing.  It was definitely an extended lunch (especially since most of the time I work through it and just eat at my desk) but I didn’t have to feel guilty since half the team I work with was with me and it was all work-related.

But it was still weird.

I know people have these sort of lunches and meetings all the time but it’s not really for me.  Even though I am technically a businesswoman (I do manage a national marketing campaign for the nation’s largest bankruptcy firm), I still feel like the little girl who wore a milk jug on her head when she dressed up like a recycling bin on Halloween.  Oh well, at least the food was good and I got a chance to get out of the office.  Now if I could just figure out a way to get free lunch every day without having to sit through sales pitches I’d be all set!

Leave a Reply

