Foodie Friday

August 23, 2013 at 1:46 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I mentioned earlier this week how happy I was with my recent decision to have brunch at Tweet and I stand by that.  I was in the mood for some veggie-friendly biscuits and gravy and that’s not always an easy and close find at 8:30 in the morning.  I used some handy Yelp reviews and came up with this place, which was actually just a short bike ride away.

Great, now I want to lick my computer screen.

Great, now I want to lick my computer screen.

Tweet is attached to a space that transforms into a gay bar at night so the decor inside is kitschy, campy and fun.  We managed to get some outdoor seating and when we sat down we enjoyed some cornbread that was placed on the table as a treat.  The menu is really large and has tons of vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options so everyone can find something they love.  There were lots of families with adorable babies and people with puppies so the setting was pleasant, even though Scott called me out on my biological clock when I was making faces at one of the kids.

I did manage to get my biscuits and gravy and it was the best breakfast I’ve had in recent memory.  It came topped with two eggs and two veggie-sausage patties, not to mention a tomato slice and side of hash browns.  It was just the thing my slightly-hungover self needed and I ate every bite.  Scott ordered some veggie-rice dish with eggs and he loved his too, especially since he got to use his chopsticks skills.  He had enough leftover to have another meal but I devoured mine and had to refrain from eating the plate.

It’s easy to get into a habit when it comes to good restaurants in the city, especially since we don’t allow ourselves to go out too much.  If we know something is good it makes sense to play it safe but I need to remember that in such a big place, there are TONS of establishments worthy of our dollar.  I’m so glad we gave this place a shot and I’m already looking forward to our next visit!

Leave a Reply

