Published!

August 14, 2013 at 1:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


So I believe I’ve mentioned this but there was a short story contest I entered a few months ago and my story ended up placing 3rd.  There was no huge grand prize or trip to NYC or anything but it was published online, so that’s exciting!  Before I post the link, please be warned that this story is all about my very first kiss.  The contest requirements were that we had to write about ‘Summer’ and when I sat down to write something, the story of that first kiss is what came out.  If you want to read it, here’s the link – you’ll have to scroll down a bit to find mine:

Heat

(Heat is the name of the story).

Please also be warned that some of the story may have been embellished a bit for creative purposes.

Not all first kisses are magical.

It’s fun to have something published and motivates me to keep up with the creative writing.  Also, I kind of like thinking of myself as a writer.  I know I write this blog and I still do some pieces for the entertainment magazine I’ve been freelancing with for years but this is something a little different for me.  I don’t write actual stories very often because…well, it’s hard!  I’ve got one I’ve been sort of working on for months and while it’s nearly 30 pages long, it’s really difficult to find the time and motivation to really hammer things out.  But these shorter stories are a great way to keep myself writing and you know what they say – practice makes perfect.

Anyway, if you check out the link I hope you enjoy it!

1 Comment

  1. szoso said,

    I tried to read all 3 without any bias, and I think you should have won. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

