Piloxed

July 15, 2013 at 10:48 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


Last Thursday, I attended my first ever hardcore cardio class at the gym.  Called Piloxing, it’s a combination of both boxing and pilates, meshed together in a one hour work out.  And it was not easy.  The instructor we had was a sub for the regular woman and this girl also incorporated  a lot of Zumba/dance type moves into the class.  I’m not going to lie, I looked like Big Bird having an epileptic fit for much of the hour.  I’ve never been the most coordinated person and my sense of rhythm has always been lacking, so it was pretty funny trying to keep up with all these girls who had clearly done this type of class before.  There were a few times I almost fell over and I definitely burst into laughter more than once after catching a glimpse of myself in the mirror, but it was still pretty fun.  And apparently these classes can burn up to 800 calories in an hour!

I absolutely did not look like this.

Besides the dance moves, there was a lot of kicking, punching, jabbing and running around.  We also did quite a few ballet poses and holds, which was surprisingly difficult.  I knew the class wouldn’t be easy and it definitely kicked my ass.  As in, I was sore for two days and doing anything that involved using muscles just plain hurt.  But of course, it hurt in a good way.  I was very proud of myself for sticking through the whole class, especially since two girls gave up and left about halfway through.  I didn’t even vomit once, either.  There weren’t too many of us to begin with and I really preferred that, since my flailing attempts at dance could have seriously injured someone had they been too close.

The whole class was a nice change of pace from my usual workout routine and I think I’ll try to incorporate it whenever I can.  If I’m lucky, I won’t feel like the world’s oldest and most arthritic woman after another session or two!

Leave a Reply

