Foodie Friday

July 12, 2013 at 10:34 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Scott’s the baker in our household.  I’m perfectly happy grabbing a package of Oreos to satisfy my sweet tooth but he’s a little more health conscious than I am and doesn’t always have the best reaction to dairy so he often makes dairy-free desserts at home.  Which is more than fine by me, not going to lie.  But when he told me he was making a peanut butter and chocolate silk pie using tofu, I was not too excited.

Tofu is something that I enjoy eating if it’s been cooked properly in the right dish.  It’s not something I really like cooking myself because I seem to wind up with a tasteless blob that otherwise ruins a perfectly good meal.  However when it’s done right, it can be a really awesome source of protein and can be quite tasty too boot.  That said, I really didn’t think it would go well in a dessert.  But Scott ignored my trepidation and used a recipe similar to the one below to create something that shut me up for good:

Ingredients:

  • 16 ounces soft (silken) tofu
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter

    Not the exact pie he made (because we ate it) but it looked just like this.

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp soy milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 pre-made pie crust

Preparation:

Combine the tofu, peanut butter, sugar, soy milk and vanilla in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.

Spoon into the pie shell. Refrigerate at least 2 hours and serve.

Recipe courtesy of About.com, though the exact recipe he used was found in a vegan cookbook my sister bought him for Christmas.

I digress.

Obviously the recipe is pretty easy and the hardest part was convincing myself to try a bite when it came out of the fridge, even though Scott assured me it was delicious.  And truth be told, he was right.  It.  Was.  Delicious.  If I hadn’t known it had tofu in it I never would have believed it and the peanut butter and chocolate on the top of the graham cracker crust melted in my mouth.  It instantly became a new favorite dessert and Scott completely agreed.  Who knows, maybe we’ll sneak it into a family function and see what everyone else thinks before revealing the ingredients!

Leave a Reply

