Get Me Out of Here!

July 11, 2013 at 11:53 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


So, I was briefly trapped in our building’s elevator yesterday.  Since we’re 51 floors up, I must take two separate elevators and an escalator in

Thankfully I didn’t have to resort to this. Yet.

order to reach my office every day.  At the end of the work day yesterday, all I wanted to do was get out of the building and on with my night but nooo, technology didn’t want to cooperate.  I was the only person in the first elevator ride down which in itself is unusual for 5pm on a work day, and then when we arrived at the floor the doors didn’t open – also unusual.  I made some disgruntled noises, hit the ‘Open’ button a few times, jumped up and down in hopes of dislodging whatever was keeping the doors shut then realized if there was a serious mechanical issue jumping up and down might not benefit me in the long run, and then began frantically jamming the ‘Open’ button.  A few (long) minutes passed and I was almost to the point of hitting the ‘Help’ button when I decided to go for broke and choose a random floor instead.  Lo and behold, the blasted thing moved and the doors opened when we arrived at the floor in question.  Since I’m a risk taker, I stayed put and hit my original destination once again.  It worked that time and I was able to make a graceful exit, even though on the inside I was hollering and creating a scene from my near-stuck experience.  I’ve mentioned before that they always seem to be doing work on the elevators here and it’s not exactly comforting.  I didn’t have any mishaps this morning but who knows what lies ahead in my future.

I should probably start packing snacks, just in case.

Leave a Reply

