Ode to My Old Office

July 2, 2013 at 2:45 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


We were so close but for barely over a month

and then you were taken from my life much too soon,

it wasn’t my choice, please believe that

for I’d never have willingly given up our old room.

Now I’m next door in what is technically the corner office

yet I’m not as excited as I was on my own,

as I’m sharing this space with two dudes who are “bros”

and when they’re not beat-boxing, singing or humming – they’re yelling into the phone.

Their job is sales so they’re supposed to be making calls

but I miss the peace and quiet we used to share,

I’ll be using my headphones more than ever before

because their noise is a little hard for me to bear.

It’s true that I now sit in the office once reserved for the founder of the firm

and I even have his old fancy chair and huge desk made of glass,

so I shall lord over my sales subjects until they move us again

or until I leave and tell this company to kiss my ass!

At least this isn’t the case.

Leave a Reply

