June Book Club Review

July 1, 2013 at 8:11 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )


For our June book club, we read Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn and went to Pizzeria da Nella for dinner.  I had never been to this Italian eatery before but it’s in a good location in Lincoln Park and it’s hard to go wrong with pizza so I was happy.

Not for the feint of heart.

The book is written by the woman who wrote the popular Gone Girl (which I have not read).  I wasn’t really sure what to expect with this novel and I didn’t know anything about it before diving in, so I was taken for quite a ride.  The story follows a journalist who gets sent from Chicago to her hometown to investigate what seems to be a serial killer targeting young girls.  The main character, Camille, also has some demons of her own and this is her first job assignment after being released from treatment for self-inflicted cutting.  So Camille stays in her childhood room and has to face the memories of the younger sister who died when they were kids and the new half-sister who’s roaming the halls.  I don’t want to say any more because I don’t want to spoil anything for those who may want to read it but I will say that it was a quick and engaging read.  I wasn’t too surprised by the twist at end although there were some things throughout the book that I definitely did not see coming.  Some scenes made me very uncomfortable as well, though I couldn’t be sure if that was the intent of the author or just my reaction to what I found too unbelievable to be true.  All in all though, it was entertaining.  This was the author’s first book and those who have read her others said they could tell it was a debut and her writing became better later on.  So perhaps I’ll pick up something else she’s written and give it a try!

As for food, I split a pear and Gorgonzola salad and a pizza with a fellow book clubber.  The pizza had zucchini, eggplant, bell peppers, mushrooms, basil, oil and mozzarella and it was a huge portion.  It was all very good and I left stuffed full of delicious dinner and good conversation.  Our next meeting is two days before we leave for Costa Rica so we’ll see if I feel up to a night out before a week out of the country.  Got a lot to look forward to this month!

Leave a Reply

