Progress!

June 24, 2013 at 10:55 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )


I was perusing the card section at my local Walgreens one day last week and stumbled across this:

Aww!

Aww!

In a week where we’re awaiting news from the Supreme Court on rulings for both the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and the legality of Prop 8, it’s nice to see a little bit of support in a previously unseen place.  I don’t know about you but this was the first same-sex marriage card I’ve ever seen and it warmed my heart.  There was another card there that could’ve worked for either male or female couples but I thought this one was a little cuter.  Of course I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised that things like this are cropping up because companies are all about making money and marketing to same-sex couples will only increase their consumer base.  But jaded consumerism aside, I’m so glad that something like this exists.  And hopefully there will be a day in the not too distant future where items for same-sex couples are so commonplace that they won’t stick out to us at all!

Leave a Reply

