Dad’s Day

June 18, 2013 at 11:35 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I realize that I’m a few days late but better late than never, right?

Sunday was Father’s Day and I celebrated all the men in my life who helped make me who I am today.  My grandfathers, uncles and of course my own dad all taught me things that helped shape my personality and provided me with lessons I’ll never forget.  My dad was a stay at home dad back when that wasn’t exactly a common thing and I have memories of him picking my sister and I up from elementary school and taking us for ice cream on our way home in the afternoons.  My dad treated us like little kids instead of dainty, delicate little girls and I think that’s where my sister and I get some of our innate toughness.  We had a tire swing, sandbox and tree house and we’d spend evenings playing catch with Dad in the front yard.  He taught me how to drive and almost had a heart attack when he asked how fast I’d gotten my car up to (he shouldn’t have asked if he didn’t want to know!).  He also managed not to murder me or my first boyfriend when he caught us home alone in high school.  We lived near some woods so the lack of homicide showed great restraint on his part.

As I’ve gotten older, my dad and I have clashed on a few major things.  There have been some situations that he could have and should have handled better and he’s been dishonest about some stuff that I’ll probably never forget.  Despite these issues, I know he loves me and I know he’s proud of me.  I also know that there are many men out there who are a father in name only and who never attempted to give their kids the life that my dad helped to give me.  I know that I’m really lucky and even though we still don’t always see eye to eye, I love my dad.  I wish he was closer and that I could see him more than once or twice a year but he’s making a trip up here in August so I’ve got that to look forward to.

Gotta love the 80's

Gotta love the 80’s

This picture is from when I was roughly 3 weeks old.  Please ignore the great role model he’s being by essentially hold me up to his cigarette pack.  Also, please don’t ignore his head of 80’s hair, because it’s too fabulous to forget.

Thanks for everything Dad.  Here’s hoping we can celebrate many more Father’s Day’s in the future.

Leave a Reply

