Ode to My Sister

May 29, 2013 at 12:46 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


Image

It’s been 28 years since you came into the world

so I don’t even remember a life that doesn’t include you,

sometimes I wonder what it would have been like to be an only child

College may have been paid for but it would have been kind of lonely, too.

Growing up in the country, we didn’t have many neighborhood friends

and were made to play mostly with each other,

we shared games and sports and stories and more

though sometimes I wished I had been given a brother.

It would be an understatement to say we didn’t always play nice

and some of our fights were pretty ugly indeed,

for instance, remember the first time I was allowed to babysit us both

and tried to stick you with a fire poker until you would bleed?

Of course you could be vicious right back to me too

like the time that you broke my arm,

you can’t even say it was just an accident

let’s face it – we both tried to do each other some harm!

We weren’t too close through our high school years

as we both were trying to figure out exactly who we were

but then in college we managed to hang out and actually have fun

and I became much happier that I had a little sister.

You surprised me with your schooling and now you’ve got yourself a career

You’re constantly doing things that make me proud and leave me impressed,

You’ve come a long way from the kid with the worms in her purse

who ran away from me in the Atlanta airport, leaving me stressed.

We’ve been through a lot and hopefully have much more heading our way

and no matter what lies around the bend,

I don’t think we would be who we are if it weren’t for the other

and I can honestly say you’re not just my sister but also my friend.

Awwww – Happy Birthday Sissy!

Leave a Reply

