April Book Club Review

April 26, 2013 at 11:57 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


And then there were three.

We initially had six book club members RSVP as a ‘Yes’ for this month’s meeting but when the day arrived, half of them

Her arms are much hairier in real life.

had to bow out at the last minute.  Which kind of sucked, of course, but sometimes the smaller meetings are a little less chaotic.  We met at Quartino, which is an Italian restaurant that’s downtown.  The place was really big and they had an even more spacious upstairs, which was kind of surprising.  Also surprising was the fact that the whole place was packed.  I guess Thursday nights are the new Fridays but they entire restaurant was buzzing and bustling.  It made it a little hard to hear each other but it was a fun environment so it ended up working out.  The three of us also met at basically the same time, which was nice because we could be seated right away.  I was starving so I appreciated that!

The bread they served was really good and I had to pace myself so as to not gobble it all up right away.  While most items looked great, all three of us opted for different pizzas.  They all wound up being vegetarian so we swapped some pieces and each one was good-looking and tasty.  I had some leftovers and the girls laughed at me when I busted out the tupperware I had carried my lunch to work in to box up my remaining slices.  Secretly, I think they were jealous and I couldn’t help but find amusement with just how much I’m becoming like my mother.

The book we read for the month was Bossypants by Tina Fey.  It was an entertaining, lighthearted, quick and easy read that literally everyone enjoyed (for real – all those who wound up canceling made sure to mention that!).  It sounds like of cheesy but I came away from the book feeling like Tina Fey was my new BFF.  It helped that a lot of it took place in Chicago so I felt familiar to begin with.  Also, her stories are self-deprecating and autobiographical, just the way I like them.  I feel like I could write something similar but no one would buy a book about my life because…well, I’m not Tina Fey.  Or famous in general.  Yet!

 

1 Comment

  1. szoso said,

    I would read your book!!

Leave a Reply

