Getting Bent

April 24, 2013 at 10:56 am (Uncategorized) (, )


I recently went to my first yoga class.  The gym I go to has all sorts of free group classes and I made it my mission to attend at least one this year.  Most of them intimidate the hell out of me because I’m clumsy and can only imagine whacking some poor soul in the face with a hand weight or something.  There’s also spinning but my sister did that once and threw up afterwards, which doesn’t sound like my idea of a good time.  So I decided yoga would be a good place to start because I’ve been working out for a while now and am surely more flexible than I used to be, plus I figured yoga might help with my whole clumsy issue.  So I went and wow – yoga is hard!

Damn you.

I am clearly NOT as flexible as I had assumed.  The grandma looking lady to my left helped prove that.  I was proud that I only nearly fell on my face a few times but my self-congratulatory mood deflated as soon as the instructor singled me out to correct my stance.  I did, however, begin to take that in stride when he did it for the third time.  The class was an hour and by the time it was finished I had regained my pride in actually sticking it out through the entire thing.  I may even decide to go again, as soon as my schedule permits.  Apparently yoga is the kind of thing that gets easier the more you do it (much like everything except waking up for work in the morning) so I suppose a little more practice wouldn’t kill me.

If I’m really lucky, perhaps one day I’ll put that grandma to shame.

Leave a Reply

