Hold On To Your Butts!

April 17, 2013 at 8:11 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


On Friday, Scott and I met some friends and went tot he IMAX Theater on Navy Pier to see the most awesome movie of all time in 3D – Jurassic Park.  This has been a favorite movie of mine for many years and this was the absolute biggest, best viewing of it I’ve ever had.  I’m not sure what I love most about the film: the fact that the dinosaurs still scare the crap out of me 20 years after its initial release, the studious/sexy look of Ian Malcolm, the fact that the female lead sticks her hand in dino poop and reminds me of the time I sifted through elephant poop in Africa or the just plain bad-assness of the entire concept – whatever the reason, I love the movie.  And seeing it in 3D was COMPLETELY worth the price of the ticket.

Can you handle it?

I thought it was kind of amusing that 90% of people in the theater were within about 2 years of my own age.  This just shows you how important this movie was and is to our generation.  And even though we’d all seen the film who knows how many times, there were still jumps and screams throughout the entire thing.  The 3D-ness obviously helped as there were a few shots where you really did feel that the scary dinosaur was jumping out of the screen to attack you.  Even though I knew what was coming, I was able to completely lose myself in the moment too.  When it was over I actually considered going to buy another ticket so I could just stay put and watch it again, but as I was the only one in our group with such thoughts I decided it might be okay to just go on home instead.

If you like this movie at all then I highly recommend checking it out while you still can.  It won’t be available in IMAX for long so hurry up and get your tickets now!  And don’t forget – hold on to your butts!

Leave a Reply

