Go Go Gadget Grants!

April 4, 2013 at 12:02 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


On a slightly peppier topic than my last post, did I mention that I’m now on a grant writing committee for the food pantry I volunteer at?  Well, I am.  It was suggested over a few beers with the whole volunteering gang and I kinda sorta forgot I mentioned that I write as a hobby but the director sure remembered.  It’s okay though because if I can help them get a little extra cash flowing in, I’ll be happy.  Of course this committee (all three of us) has never written a grant before but we won’t let that stop us from trying!

Truth.

With a little help of our friends (and in particular two of mine whom I’m especially fond of), we were able to hammer out an initial letter of inquiry for our first grant.  That’s basically a cover letter requesting permission to actually write a grant proposal.  It was sent off last week and so come hell or high water, we’ve gotten a start.  We should know something in 30 days or so but we’ve already moved on to the next opportunity, which would come from a MUCH bigger source.  I met with the other two last night and we started brainstorming on how to go about this whole thing, especially since the format of this inquiry is basically fill in the blank text boxes vs. an actual letter.  So we were trying to come up with a specific need for a grant (because really, nonprofits always need money for just about everything) and then yours truly made a suggestion that just won the other two over.  I don’t want to get into specifics, mostly because I’m superstitious and don’t want to jinx myself, but if it all goes the way we want it to it could net quite a nice little profit for our pantry.  And even if it doesn’t go the way we want it to, at least we’re learning and trying.  Right?

I think I read someplace that people should try to do something every day that scares them.  While I’m not quite that daring, stepping out into the world of grant writing for nonprofits is intimidating to me and definitely out of my comfort zone so I’ll count this as my scare of the week.  What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

