Warning: Gore Ahead

April 2, 2013 at 9:10 am (Uncategorized) (, )


I had a really great long weekend home and it was wonderful to visit with family and friends, but the weekend ended with some of the most horrible things I’ve ever seen.  I usually try to keep these posts at least somewhat light and funny but today might not be like that, so feel free to leave and come back later this week.  I won’t blame you but I’m writing about this in hopes of getting it out of my head.

Most of you have probably seen/heard about Kevin Ware’s leg injury.  He’s a basketball player for Louisville and our whole family was watching the game when he made his incredibly unfortunate landing.  His bone basically popped out of his leg and the scene was so gruesome that  grown men on and off the court were crying, hugging each other and dropping to the floor.  I’ve never seen anything like it and I can only hope he went into shock or was given some morphine right away because I may have lost my mind if that had happened to me.  He eventually made it off the court but there’s no telling how long he’ll be recovering from this injury.  Hopefully he’ll be back sometime later this year but only time well tell.

So that was pretty awful to watch and by the time the game ended, I was on the road with my mom heading to Indianapolis so I could catch the Megabus back home.  It was a pretty late bus and we left Indy around 9:30, so I settled in and tried to take a nap.  About halfway to Chicago I woke up because we had completely stopped on the interstate.  We stayed there for quite a while (my phone was dead by this time so I don’t know exactly how long, but we were a little over an hour late by the time we eventually made it back).  The bus eventually crept towards the nearest exit, where multiple police cars were parked and directing traffic off the interstate and on to back roads, since they had completely closed that section of the interstate down.  As we made our way to the exit ramp, I made the mistake of looking out my window.  I saw…things.  Mostly muscle, tendon and a lot of blood.  But I didn’t see any wrecked vehicles so I tried to tell myself that maybe someone hit a deer and that was what was causing all the problems.  We took back roads for miles and miles before eventually making it to the interstate and on to Chicago.

Yesterday morning I did some internet digging and learned that a woman had walked out on to the interstate and was struck by multiple vehicles.  It seems like what she did was intentional and her remains are what I saw.  The only dead bodies I’ve ever been exposed to were tucked neatly into their caskets, so this is new to me.  It also reinforces why I don’t think I’d ever be able to work in a hospital or similar setting.

So…yeah.  Pretty horrible and I can only imagine what her family and those who were in the cars that initially struck her must be going through.  But I guess that about sums it up.  I didn’t mean for this to be such a downer of a post but I had to get it out somehow – if you made it this far, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

