No Thank You

March 25, 2013 at 11:58 am (Uncategorized) (, , )


A coworker came in today all excited because her niece finally gave birth to the baby she’s been toting around for what I’m assuming was right around 9 months.  Apparently the niece had a doctor appointment on Friday and they sent her home, then she returned on Saturday and they told her to go walk around for a few hours and come back because she wasn’t ready to drop yet.  So she went home, took a nap and then gave birth in her bathtub because it all happened so fast she couldn’t even call an ambulance.

Doing a Google Image Search for “birth in a bathtub” was a really, really bad idea. So here’s a picture of a puppy.

Um, no.  This is terrifying to me and I don’t even know the person it happened to.  Apparently her mother had to help her with the whole birthing process as EMT’s only arrived in enough time to cut the umbilical cord.  The baby weighed in at nearly 9lbs and 20 inches, too.  I shudder at the thought of giving birth to anything that size without being a little more prepared.  I guess her mom didn’t believe that she was actually giving birth until she looked down and saw a face, which is just another aspect of this story that scares the crap out of me.

Everyone involved is safe and healthy so this just wound up being a really good birthing story but it’s something that will likely haunt me until the day any potential children I may have have kids of their own.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go refill my birth control prescription.

Leave a Reply

