Maybe I Should Change Professions

February 20, 2013 at 11:22 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I’m sure everyone has random dreams now and then about pulling off a huge robbery and living like a king (or queen) for the rest of their lives.  Hell, I’d be happy to just loot enough to pay off my student loans.  However pesky things like my morals and jail have always stood in between me and my fantasy of re-enacting Ocean’s 11 and I’ve just had to deal with that.  But that doesn’t make me any less fascinated with the news that a group of eight masked men (or women, because really who can tell when they’re wearing masks?) dressed as police officers stole roughly $50 million worth of diamonds on an airstrip in Brussels.

Read about it here.

I should note that I don’t actually condone stealing but this is still just too interesting not to think about.  How did they get away with it?  How much planning and preparation actually goes into something like this?  How many times did they crap out of pure nervousness before the heist took place?  The world may never know.  Chances are it was related to organized crime, since it was such a well-orchestrated job and all.  I know that even if I had a decade I wouldn’t be able to successfully pull off anything on such a scale, so yes, I’m impressed.  Not that I’m seriously thinking about it (I promise, FBI).

A girl can dream.

But it is kind of cool, I have to admit.

Leave a Reply

