Well Isn’t That Embarrassing

February 18, 2013 at 2:04 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


I had one of those publicly embarrassing moments this weekend where my debit card didn’t work at the register.

How rude!

This wasn’t my fault, mind you, as I had plenty of money in my account.  The whole demeaning debacle started when I got carded for my bottle of wine at Trader Joe’s.  I showed my license and the girl called me out on the fact that it’s expired (yes, I know this and I am waiting for a new one to arrive in the mail any day now.  I promise).  So Scott had to show his and then I thought things would be business as usual.  No such luck.  We split the total in half so I could put half on my card and Scott could put the other half on his and this is something we do all the time at Trader Joe’s and every other grocery store, with no problems.  Well, it apparently confused the sullen Check-Out Girl and she wasn’t able to split it the first four times she tried.  It eventually showed up as half so I swiped my debit card, which is when she first told me it came back declined.  What?  I had cash in my account and even if I didn’t, my card never declines, it just overdrafts.  But that wasn’t even the point since there was plenty of cash in my account.  So we run it through once more and it declines once more.  At this point there’s a line forming and I’m getting flustered so I pull out my credit card.  Check-Out Girl has more problems getting the bill to split again but she finally manages and I swipe the new card.  The machine asked me for a PIN number and I told the girl it needed to be run as credit.  She looked at me like I was an broke-ass idiot and told me to then run it as credit.  I told HER that there wasn’t an option for that anywhere on the screen and when I swiped it, it automatically brought up the PIN screen.  At this point people are moving to other lines and rolling their eyes while Scott has his hand on my arm to prevent me from grabbing Check-Out Girl by the hair and showing her the screen I was looking at.  She just looked at me, didn’t say a word and crossed her arms over her chest.  Because that will magically fix everything.  Scott eventually just put the whole thing on his card and I walked out, biting my tongue the entire way.

I know this isn’t a huge deal and my debit card worked perfectly fine at Target later that night so I realize I didn’t do anything wrong.  And while I know working at a grocery store probably isn’t all sunshine and giggles all of the time, I think maybe the Check-Out Girl could have at least apologized for whatever she did in her system that screwed it all up to begin with, or something.  Not treating me like a piece of crap on her shoe would’ve been a start.  I have NEVER had my card declined ANYWHERE and wow, it sure is a demoralizing experience.  I can’t imagine the drop-kick to morale people get if/when it happens on a regular basis.  My situation all worked out in the end though and when I got home, I truly savored that bottle of wine.

Leave a Reply

