Chicago Symphony Orchestra

January 14, 2013 at 12:26 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


We came, we saw, we listened.

Saturday, Scott and I used our free tickets to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and braved winds and rain while wearing our finest.  It was quite the experience.  Neither of us had ever seen an orchestra before and it’s pretty amazing to watch dozens of people in tune with one another and moving their bows, fingers and strings in perfect harmony.  We saw music as written by Beethoven and the musicians were all so talented it made me sad that I never had my aunt teach me the piano when I was a kid.  Scott and I vowed that if we ever have children, they’re definitely learning to play an instrument.  Seriously, I can’t even begin to imagine the time and effort it takes to become as good at something as those musicians were.  They all were completely into their performances, so much so that at one point we were certain one guy in particular would put the eye out of the woman playing next to him.  Thankfully, that did not happen.  Given our great seats, we would’ve seen it all.

Photo taken before the concert started because I am not a rude jackass.

Photo taken before the concert started because I am not a rude jackass.

After one of the sets, the raised platform that the conductor had been conducting on sank into the ground, which was pretty cool in itself.  Even cooler, they put a piano on it and brought the whole level back up so the next guy could hit the keys.  That was one of my favorite parts because the piano added a little something extra.  I also liked the guy on the big drum in the back and all of the huge guitars whose name I don’t really know but…well, the instruments look like big guitars.  Shows you how much good my band class in middle school did me.

The only drawback to the evening was the guy sitting next to me (not Scott!).  His breathing was labored and very loud and I even heard him snoring lightly a few times during the performance.  I wasn’t sure what the social protocol was on something like that and he was by himself so I couldn’t give the stink eye to his date.  He was also really overweight so maybe he wasn’t snoring and just had his eyes closed listening to the music?  But it seemed like he was snoozing.  I felt bad for him because he was alone so I made up a story that he has some rare illness that causes him to be an insomniac except when he’s listening to expensive classical music in a pubic setting, and that helped me feel a little better.  Perhaps that was the only good rest he got all week.  Other than him, most everyone was quiet throughout the performances and as soon as the sets were over people let loose with their coughing, sniffling and general whispering.  Kind of funny, to be honest.

I also made friends with some older lady in the line for the bathroom at intermission and found out she used to be a docent in Ohio and once thought about retiring in Bloomington, Indiana, where I went to college.  Small world!

Scott and I had a lovely evening but would probably not become season ticket holders anytime soon, mostly because we have rent to pay.  Not a bad way to pass a few hours for free though, and definitely an experience everyone should have at least once!

 

 

Leave a Reply

