Good and Bad

January 4, 2013 at 4:08 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


I like to keep things balanced and I find that life typically evens itself out.  Therefore, here’s a super short list of some good and bad things happening today:

  • Good – I’m getting a massage after work today, thanks to the Christmas present gift card from my wonderful boyfriend.  I’m hoping for a beefy German guy who won’t be shy about working out the massive knot that has resided in my upper right shoulder for the better part of a decade.  Bring it, beefcake!
  • Bad – I have a hole in the crotch of my jeans.  I knew it was happening but when I got to work this morning and looked down, I was amazed at its quick progress.  I love these jeans and I don’t think there’s any hope saving them, so I will be looking for a new pair this weekend.  And I’ve barely been able to leave my desk all day.

At least it’s not this bad…

And now on a grander scale:

  • Good – Illinois is thisclose to passing same-sex marriage!  Sure, it’s not a done deal yet but it’s closer than it ever has been.  Being the 10th state in the country to make such a leap forward would be a fantastic way to start the New Year!
  • Bad – my favorite primates of all time, bonobos, are at risk for extinction.  I was introduced to these peace-loving, free sex-having chimps in college and they’ve held a special place in my heart ever since.  And if the fighting in the Congo doesn’t get better soon (which isn’t likely to happen), then the only natural habitat they have will be gone.  Can’t we all just follow their lead, rub one out and get along?

No matter what, I have high hopes that this year will bring more good things than bad.  And if not…at least I have the hands of Hans to massage my troubles away!

Leave a Reply

