Treats on a Timeframe

December 19, 2012 at 1:26 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


If you’re looking for something quick, easy and delicious to bring to an office party or your family holiday gathering, have I got a recipe for you.  My uncle’s fiance made these over Thanksgiving and I thought she was just about the smartest thing around.  Part of me wondered if this was some ancient family secret of hers but mostly I was happy that she introduced this awesome snack to our clan.  I made a batch of these myself a couple of weeks ago and you can see from the picture how quickly they went.  I made one more batch two nights ago so I can have something cheap yet yummy to pass out to my fellow volunteers at the food pantry and a select group of coworkers.  As I was making Batch #2, I realized the recipe for this amazing treat I’d never seen before this year was actually on the back of the bag of candy I was using.  D’oh.  So this may not come as a new recipe to you but it doesn’t make them any less awesome!

Yeah these are all gone now.

Yeah these are all gone now.

You will need: a bag of pecans, a bag of square pretzels and a bag of Rolos.  And an oven.

Turn the oven on to like 250 or 300 degrees.  Place pretzels on a baking sheet, place one Rolos on top of each pretzel and place one pecan piece on each Rolo.  Place in the oven.  Wait maaaaybe 6 or 7 minutes (basically whenever the chocolate starts to melt).  Remove the baking sheet and place in the fridge to cool.  Unless you want to melt the shelves in your fridge, put an oven mitt down first.  Let cool.  Eat everything.  And if you forget what you’re doing, turn the bag of Rolos over and re-read the recipe there.  Also, don’t forget to turn the oven off.

Yes, it’s incredibly easy but I promise it’s really good too.  I never said I was Betty Crocker, you know.

Leave a Reply

