Lou Mitchell’s

December 12, 2012 at 1:53 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


As I mentioned yesterday, Mom and I had a fantastic brunch at an apparent Chicago landmark this weekend, Lou Mitchell’s.  This diner has been serving meals since 1923 and boasts being the beginning point of Route 66.  Presidents have dined there and I’m pretty sure Obama was campaigning there not too long ago, so it’s a popular spot.  That was also evidenced by how freaking busy it was at 1pm Saturday.  We didn’t really have to wait very long but the entire place was hopping and stayed that way until we left.  It’s located only a few blocks from my office so of course it’s going to be tempting me every morning but so far I’ve been able to resist.  I know I won’t be able to say that forever, though.

Outdoor seating?! I’ll be back when the weather warms up!

True to authentic diner fashion,  our server had heavy make-up and big, hair-sprayed hair.  She was really nice and as we were being seated, brought us over two donut holes each.  I guess this is one of their trademarks?  The bread there is baked in-house and the donut holes put anything Dunkin Donuts could ever come up with to SHAME.  They were huge and delicious.  We were also given boxes of Milk Duds, because apparently all women and children receive that candy upon entering the establishment.  Trust me, we weren’t complaining.

I ordered a pancake, omelette and side of fried potatoes, all which were served in large portions.  Mom had some egg dish with bacon and raisin toast, which was pretty much the thickest and most savory toast I’ve ever had in my life.  Our waitress kept the coffee flowing and there was delicious maple syrup on the table for me to drench my pancake in.  The entire meal was seriously delicious and just when I thought I couldn’t eat another bite, they brought us free, individual servings of ice cream for desert.  Talk about melting my heart!  And the price was reasonable – I think Mom and I both ate our hearts out for around $30.

If you’re ever in the neighborhood, I highly recommend this place.  It’s comfortable, tasty and historic so what’s not to like?  Of course, if you’re going to go please let me know.  I can’t think of a better reason to be late to work!

 

Leave a Reply

