Black Thursday?

November 14, 2012 at 12:22 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


Really?!  By now we’re all familiar with the concept of Black Friday, where millions of people go crazy and trample each other to buy things on the day after giving thanks for everything they already have.  Yes, I know there are some good deals but no, I don’t participate.  And now I’m hearing that some retailers (Wal-Mart, Target, Toys R Us, Old Navy, Gap and Kmart, just to name a few) will be opening at 8pm on Thanksgiving night to try to take advantage of the greedy holiday spirit.  That means countless retail workers will be helping demanding, overstuffed customers all evening instead of spending just a little time with their own loved ones.  In case you haven’t picked up on it, I won’t be shopping next Thursday either.

Watch out, Grandma!

Actually, most of my shopping has been done via the internet and I’d say I’m roughly 80% finished at this point.  Yup, it’s a pretty great feeling.  I don’t usually shop online because I just can’t live my life that close to the edge but an especially slow day at work a few weeks ago prompted an Amazon perusal.  I found everything I was looking for (and more, of course) with just a few clicks of my mouse.  Since most of it has arrived (there was one thing that won’t be coming after all but once I get my refund, I’ll be able to move on), I think I’m now an online-holiday-shopping convert.  Why would I want to deal with long lines, horrendously moody/cranky/rabid shoppers, the anxiety of not finding that gift or deal that I’ve been holding out for and waking up at like 3am just for a few gifts?  I think some people turn it into a sport and I guess that’s okay but I’d rather sleep in, play online and have everything arrive at my office without further adieu.

Why do I get things shipped to my office?  Well, I don’t fully trust my neighbors, or my boyfriend.  Someone can easily nab an Amazon package before I get home and since I’m usually the last person to check the mail, that’s a distinct possibility.  Plus, it’s fun to get packages at work!  If you’re someone who really enjoys battling the crowds and craziness on Black Friday (or even the upcoming Black Thursday), good luck and Godspeed.  I think you’re crazy but respect your madness.  If you’re like me and now prefer doing your shopping from the comfort of your own office chair couch, welcome to the 21st century!  I’ll take the danger of carpel tunnel over being trampled to death any day.

On a completely unrelated note, I’m pretty sure a new coworker of mine has been calling me Peggy instead of my actual name.  I think I’m just going to roll with it.

Leave a Reply

