Done and Done!

November 2, 2012 at 12:52 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


Well, I’ve done my civic duty for this election period.

Not a fancy sticker but it will do.

This whole early voting thing is mighty handy, I will admit.  Scott and I attempted to take care of this last Sunday but the wait was running over an hour and we simply didn’t have that sort of time to kill.  I went to the downtown polling location yesterday on my lunch break and the lines were much better – I only waited about 20 minutes before being able to cast my ballot.  I have memories of elections gone by and of my mom having to wake up my sister and I super early so she could take care of her voting at the buttcrack of dawn.  It’s pretty nice knowing I’ll be sticking to my usual routine on Tuesday and enjoying that extra hour of sleep that the end of Daylight Savings Time will provide.

This election is a very divisive one (but really, which election isn’t?) and I’m glad to know that my little vote will eventually be heard.  Of course I wish there was more I could do to get this country on the track I think it should be on but short of running for office myself, voting is a good place to start.  And seeing as how I gave up my dreams of presidency long ago (thanks for those skeletons in my closet, college), I’ll be content with watching someone else go prematurely gray as they try to solve the country’s problems.

As I’ve mentioned before here, I think it’s important to be aware of the issues at hand and make responsible voting decisions.  And while I don’t exactly see how any educated mind can believe some of the stuff being spouted by one particular candidate, I know for a fact that neither man is perfect and neither can keep all they promises he’s made.  All I can do is hope that whomever is elected does his best and helps this country become a place that I’m not so hesitant to bring a new life into (…eventually).  Of course I’d like for “my guy” to win but since there isn’t much I can do other than what I’ve already done, I’ll just sit back and watch the chaos ensue.  And either way, I bet I’ll be having a drink come Tuesday night just to celebrate the fact that this election season is finally over.

Leave a Reply

