By the Numbers

October 24, 2012 at 12:46 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


Well, I’m glad I went to my reunion and I’m also glad it’s over.  It’s amazing what ten years can do to some people and I had to laugh as I witnessed the stereotype of the good-looking, popular guys from senior year who gained a huge beer belly and lost their hair.  Despite having a super drunk former classmate of mine dump red wine down the back of my favorite sweater upon my arrival (thanks for getting that stain out, Mom!), I enjoyed myself and Scott seemed to tolerate an evening full of strangers telling stories he wasn’t a part of very well.  It was good to see most everyone and it was also good to find out who was still a giant douchebag.  It was also crazy to see just how many visibly pregnant women were there – I counted at least 8, not including myself.  Haha, just kidding!  Trying to see if you’re paying attention.  I enjoyed catching up with old classmates but was also reminded why I don’t speak to more of them on a regular basis.  There was almost a fight between two guys near me too, so it was just like the good old days.

Too bad I was never any good in math…

My long weekend was, as typically goes for my trips home, a rather busy one.  Instead of writing about it in detail, I figured I’d just show you the stats:

  • Five days ago Scott and I drove 250 miles after work and arrived home around 2am.
  • Four days ago I received 1 haircut, visited with 2 grandparents, “napped” for 3 hours, met with 4 friends and attended my 10 year high school reunion, where I mingled with nearly 100 people and had lots of wine (yeah, lost count on that part).
  • Three days ago Scott returned home and I visited with 5 friends for 2 hours over 1 brunch, then I visited with 15 family members and 4 additional friends in 6 different locations across 2 states.  I was very busy.
  • Two days ago I had a nearly 3 hour brunch at Cracker Barrel where I visited with 12 more family members before boarding the Megabus and traveling the 250 miles back to Chicago.
  • Yesterday I enjoyed my day off by cleaning out 6 different cabinets and 1 drawer across 3 rooms.  Also, 1 trip to the gym, 1 call to my building maintenance, 1 apartment problem resolved and 1 more nap.

And now I’m back to work, counting down the hours until I can leave once again.

All in all, it was a great trip.  You can see how much quality time I got with my friends and family and I was also able to visit my still hospital-bound uncle, who is doing better.  Even though they accidentally broke his leg in physical therapy.  Granted, he’s a paraplegic and can’t exactly feel a broken leg anyway but c’mon.  Who does that?  Luckily he’s in good spirits even with this new setback and should hopefully be back in his own house this week.

I still can’t believe it’s been 10 years since I finished high school and I can’t help but wonder what the next 10 will bring.  I feel like I’m on a good track though and so I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing and see what happens.  At least I’m not bald!

 

Leave a Reply

