Bad Business

October 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


You know what pisses me off?  When someone places an ad for a free salon service, you volunteer your evening to participate in the service, confirm with that person numerous times and then they cancel on you at the last possible minute.

I had to do this myself last night and I was nowhere near as cheerful.

I came across a post online from a guy who recently graduated from cosmetology school and was in need of women to sit for free shampoos and blow outs so he could practice at his new place of employment.  Since I walk past said place on my way home from the train every day and I like being pampered for free, I signed right up.  By the way, I was totally planning on tipping him graciously for his time and talent.  He seemed excited to meet me and we went back and forth on the appointment time, with me asking if 6pm was alright since that was the soonest I could get there.  He assured me it was and we confirmed again the day of the appointment (yesterday).  Logically, I know a professional shampoo and hair drying isn’t that big of a deal but I put other plans on hold so I could go to this and I was really looking forward to it.  I had a crappy day at work and got myself through it by thinking of my evening in a salon chair.  Then, on my train ride home, I received an email on my phone from this would-be professional saying that his boss didn’t want him to take appointments after 4:30, but he hoped we could reschedule.  Well, Mr. Irresponsible, as I previously told you I can’t get there earlier than 6pm so I’m out and won’t be coming back.  PS, kiss my ass.  PPS, you’re lucky I wasn’t going out of my way to come to your salon (which I won’t name because I’m too classy for that) or I would’ve written a much more pissy response back to you and may have even expressed my displeasure by decorating the front of your store with some unfertilized eggs.

Besides the whole hair thing, I was also excited to check out this place since I pass it so often.  I hadn’t gone in yet because the prices seemed a little high but the Yelp ratings were good so I was going to let last night make up my mind.  Consider my mind made up – I won’t be going in there even if I sleep on a wad of gum and my only other option is taking a pair of blunt child scissors to my own head.

Guess what they say is true…if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is!

Leave a Reply

