Making Sense of Cents

September 17, 2012 at 11:32 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no mathematical genius.  So perhaps what I’m about to tell you does make actual fiscal sense but I’ll be honest – it’s about as confusing to me as Finite was in college.

There’s a new woman who works in my office and for the last few days, she’s been begging people to let her buy them Starbucks pastries or beverages because apparently she has some rewards card and she needs a certain amount of points in order to remain a member.  She accrues points by making separate purchases so she’s trying to buy as much as she can as quickly as she can so she doesn’t lose whatever other benefits she has by being this fancy card holder.  Now, I’m not much of a Starbucks drinker (because their coffee is too strong but mostly too expensive) and I won’t even pretend to be privy to the special, super secret knowledge that cardholders seem to possess.  Also, I’m too lazy to look much into it.   But it seems to me that making multiple purchases of expensive products that you wouldn’t otherwise make doesn’t exactly financially outweigh whatever benefits you could be getting from some plastic, semi-exclusive card.  I’m not sure exactly how much this woman has spent out of her own pocket but I know that she’s bought things for myself and at least four other coworkers two mornings in a row.  I even offered to give her some cash for my blueberry muffin but she said that since I was helping her, she was happy to buy it.

Um, is it really worth it?

Am I missing something?  This woman is our accountant for crying out loud, so surely she’s got it figured out.  Either way, I guess I’ll let her buy me more pastries if she wants and keep my mouth shut about my real thoughts on the matter.  Good thing I have this blog to confess my doubts on!

Leave a Reply

