Around Town

August 27, 2012 at 12:01 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


As promised, Scott and I had a very nice (if not somewhat strenuous) bike ride on Saturday.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t proud of sticking through the roughly 15 miles we trekked and it felt good to face some of my fears on the mean Chicago streets.  It felt even better to yell at the drunk girls in my bike lane in Wrigleyville and scare them to the side, but that might just be because it was entertaining as hell to watch them scramble and stumble.

What a view!

We started with a quick trip to a coffee shop for a little pick me up and then headed to Montrose Beach, where we watched some volleyball players and took a ride out to the end of a concrete peninsula (see photo).  The beach there also has a wildlife/bird/butterfly sanctuary and so we spent a little bit of time hiking through that before again putting the petal to the metal and continuing on our way.  We rode around the bike path on Lake Shore Drive through Lincoln Park and stopped at another beach (Fullerton, for those of you following along at home), where I realized that biking takes a little more out of me than I was originally expecting.  We had plans to go on to the zoo (and we did actually do a drive by) but, in order to keep myself from smacking Scott upside the head with my bike lock, we opted for some food instead.  We both felt much better after a sandwich and energy shake and that was enough to get us through the drunks in Wrigleyville and back up to our neighborhood.  By the time we got home I was a hot, sweaty mess but it was also quite exhilarating and more than a bit of fun.   And other than waiting at a few lights because I wasn’t as daring/fast as Scott, I managed to keep up pretty well!

I will, however, not have a giant syrup-laden pancake breakfast before my next big bike ride.  Lesson learned.

Countdown to Ecuador: Four Days!

Leave a Reply

