History Repeats Itself

August 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


If you’ve been reading this blog long enough, you know that last year I went to Guatemala on a solo adventure.  You may also remember that the week before I left, I found out that the initial hostel booking I made and the hiking trip I planned didn’t actually exist and I had to start from scratch with totally different companies.  I freaked out for a hot minute but things worked themselves out, as they so often do, and I was very glad I didn’t cancel everything like I briefly considered.  Well here I am, 9 days from leaving for Ecuador, and I seem to be having deja vu.

Uh-oh

So this volcano is located in one of the cities we’re staying in and we’re supposed to be there two weeks from tomorrow.  According to the news seen in my Google Reader, this thing is exploding as I type and local residents have been evacuated.  Awesome.  I was reading through our itinerary to double-check this was the city in question and came across a line boasting “beautiful views of the breathtaking Tungurahua volcano”.  And that’s Tungurahua in the photo.  It certainly is beautiful and I’m sure will make for some great photo ops but it would probably literally be breathtaking and I’d rather not reenact any scenes from Dante’s Peak while on vacation.  I called the travel company and they said they would look into things and get back to me as soon as possible but they also assured me that they wouldn’t take us anywhere that was in any way dangerous.  So that’s good, right?

Eh, I’m not going to let this stress me out regardless.  Apparently that’s one of the perks of booking with a tour group – they do the stressing out for me!  Everything else is still a go and I’m just going to roll with it and see what happens.  That’s what this whole adventure thing is all about, after all!

Leave a Reply

