Snip Snip

July 27, 2012 at 12:32 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I need a haircut.  Badly.  I believe my last one was in the beginning of April, which is roughly four months ago.  At this point, my hair is the longest it has ever been in my entire life and it’s driving me absolutely bat shit crazy.  Here’s why:

Scissor clip art…another great pun

  • It clogs drains.  My apartment maintenance crew has to come out regularly to clear my shower drain because they refuse to give me a stopper that fits the absurdly small opening and so they must deal with the nasty consequences.  I suppose this is a perk of renting.
  • It getseverywhere.  There’s hair on my pillowcase, my bed, my floor, my bathroom counter and my couch, even though I vacuum twice a week.  Strands stick to my back and I spend time every morning trying to remove it all.  I’ve even found it in my food, which is super not awesome.
  • It’s thick, which can be nice, but it can also be hot.  Especially when temperatures are still in the triple digits.  Ponytails can only relive so much of the pressure.
  • It gets caught under my back when I’m laying down.  Or under Scott’s back.  And he sleeps like a rock so if he rolls over and traps my hair, it’s quite the process to get it free.
  • It takes forever to wash and forever to brush.  I only air dry it because I am way, way too lazy to do so with the blow dryer.  Not to mention that would take like 10 minutes and leave me a sweaty, pissed-off mess.

So why do I still have it this long?  Well, I’m kind of stubborn and decided a while ago that I’d grow it out long enough to donate it to one of those organizations that make wigs for cancer patients.  And while I rocked the pixie cut once upon a time, I’d rather keep enough to still be able to sport a ponytail after the cut.  I actually just measured it again today and even though I have enough to donate, doing so would leave me with a little less than I would like.  Luckily I’m getting a trim this weekend so maybe it’ll be a bit more manageable after that.  Or I might just say screw it all, chop it off and deal with it shorter than I had intended.  Either way, I’ll be sure to get myself out of this hairy situation as soon as I can.

And yes, I know how seriously awesome that pun was.  You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

