Hey Dude

July 9, 2012 at 2:49 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


In a move that will provide both sensory relief for our long-haired feline companion and comic relief for Scott and I, we got Dude shaved yesterday.  He’s a Himalayan so he has fairly long hair and after watching him sweat last week, we decided to have mercy on his poor overheated soul.  The lady who was doing the shaving asked all kinds of questions pertaining to what sort of cut we wanted on him and since we aren’t exactly experts in aspects of cat hair removal, I kind of shrugged and told her to do what she thought was best.  This is how it turned out:

Insert joke about shaved pussy here

His tail is what has me seriously cracking up and even though my mom said he looks like a possum, I think he’s still fairly adorable.  He didn’t seem too bothered by any of it and after having his dinner, he wandered back to his usual spot and gave himself a bath, which I have to imagine now takes him much less time.  There were no fecal surprises in the hallway or on my bed so I don’t think he hates us for shaving him which is good, because this look leaves less cat hair to vacuum up and might become more regular.  And in true laid-back Dude fashion, the woman at Petco said he was incredibly mellow and relaxed through the whole ordeal, which just proves once again how much he takes after hisnamesake (if you’ve never seen The Big Lebowski, sorry for making a reference you’ll never understand.  It’s your loss, though).

So the Dude abides, even when being harassed by a stranger with an electric razor.  Perhaps I’ll make him a White Russian as a reward…virgin, of course.

3 Comments

  1. Mega said,

    I thought this was going to be about the old Nickelodeon show Hey Dude. I’m so let down right now.

    • webpaige said,

      I’m sorry to disappoint! The theme song was running through my head while I wrote it, if that means anything.

  2. LAJ said,

    “It’s a little wild, and a little strange. To make your home out on the range.” Seriously, a cute cut! I do the same to Jinx cuz not only does it keep her cool – I don’t lose mine when her booty hair is too long and gets doos on it – yuk! No longer a problem, though! I wonder – did the Dude have to be sedated?

Leave a Reply

