Yes. It’s Hot.

July 6, 2012 at 12:25 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Not to jump on the bandwagon but I’m totally going to jump on the bandwagon.  Chicago is among the countless other cities breaking records this week with heat that’s oppressively, searingly bad.  I’m thankful I work in an office and not the unconditioned third floor of some random building (coughmypoorboyfriendcough) and I KNOW how lucky I am to have central AC at home, but when it’s 90 degrees at 10:30pm and you feel like you’re swimming in the humidity as you walk along the sidewalks, it’s just too damn hot.  It doesn’t help that the little bit of rain we’ve had only steams everything up even more before all too quickly disappearing into thin air.

So. Hot.

I’ve tried thinking cold thoughts but ice cubes melt and polar bears are dying so that gets sort of depressing.  I’ve heard some fellow commuters longing for a good Chicagao-style blizzard and I have to say that actually sounds good right about now.  Not that we had one last winter for me to compare it to or anything but I’m sure you understand where I’m coming from.  This heat sucks and I’m about over feeling like I have to shave my legs more than once a week.  And yes, I know it’s summer and we should expect this but come on.  We had maybe 5 days all summer last year that got into the 90’s and we’ve been in the 100’s all week.  And it’s nowhere near August yet.

It’s supposed to break later this weekend and we’ll all be welcoming the 80’s with open arms.  In the meantime, I’m going to drink as much water and cold beer as I can before my bladder explodes and then try to avoid standing in direct sunlight (or hell, even moonlight).  I hope you and yours are able to find some relief and don’t forget to check on elderly neighbors, family members and pets (of all ages).  Also, try not to think about your next AC bill because that’ll do nothing but cause you to break out in another unwanted sweat.

Leave a Reply

