Free Day!

July 3, 2012 at 12:18 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


A previous job of mine had a rule that no one was allowed to take the 4th of July off of work, so every year since I left there I’ve been even more appreciative of this holiday.  America has its own fair share of problems (boy, do we) but I also realize that I have it better than many others.  The fact that I, as a non-married woman, can make a living for myself while also enjoying financial, religious and sexual freedom is something I do not take for granted, and not just on the 4th of July.  It’s nice to have the day off work but it’s even nicer to have personal freedom.

My heroes.

That said, I’m thrilled to not be working tomorrow.  Whatever shall I do?  The beach is a very strong possibility and since temperatures are going to continue to hover in the mid-90’s, it’s probably a pretty good idea to take a dip in the lake.  Or stay in my pajamas and lay on the couch all day, I haven’t decided which.  It would’ve been nice to have an extra long weekend but a day off in the middle of the week isn’t bad either.  Speaking of mid-90’s, I can tell you one thing I’ll be doing for certain – watching Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum save the planet from alien invasion.  Welcome to Earth!

 

Leave a Reply

