Time Flies

June 22, 2012 at 11:39 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


One year ago yesterday, I had butterflies in my stomach because I had a date planned with some red-headed dude that I met on OKCupid.  I had only been on a few dates through the site before and they were all pretty big duds, but something about this guy felt different.  From the moment we met it was like I had known him forever but after a year I still feel like I was introduced to him yesterday.  We’ve been there for each other through some ups and downs and have managed to have a lot of fun along the way!

Blink and you miss it!

Speaking of time flying by, it’s now been a little over ten years since I graduated from high school.  MAN, that’s weird.  As far as I know, we’re not having any sort of reunion or anything (or perhaps they are and I was left off the list?) but since the advent of Facebook, I know what everyone is up to anyway.  Whether or not that’s a good thing is yet to be determined.  I still can’t believe it’s been so long since I was in high school, though in other ways it seems like I’ve lived an eternity.  And because I love my lists, here’s some stuff I’ve done since graduation:

  • Completed two Bachelor degrees at Indiana University (and keeping up a fairly decent GPA while still somehow managing to fail Ballroom Dance)
  • Lived in three different cities in two different states
  • Had eight different addresses
  • Traveled to eight different countries on five different continents
  • Had five pets (a gerbil, a guinea pig, a bird and two cats – Catsby was the best, RIP)
  • Kept three of said pets hidden while living in the dorms
  • Dated….well, nevermind
  • Held fourteen different jobs, more than a few simultaneously
  • Worn through two pairs of Teva sandals
  • Finished the Museum Studies certificate at Northwestern
  • Volunteered with seven different non-profit organizations
  • Watched the entire series of Gilmore Girls three times.  Don’t you judge me!

Clearly, a lot can happen in a year and even more can happen in ten.  While high school does seem forever ago, I’m thankful that I’ve been able to maintain certain relationships from that time and I’m also thankful for the relationships I’ve formed since then.  Here’s to the next ten years!

Leave a Reply

