A Recess on Recess?

June 7, 2012 at 12:05 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


While I was on vacation and visiting family in Louisiana, I got to catch up on what it’s like to be a kid these days.  During an afternoon when pretty much everyone else was napping, my cousin’s 9-year-old son and I hung out in the pool and chatted like old friends.  Or rather, he talked my ear off while I floated around with a beer.  One thing he said that particularly stuck out was the fact that the kids at his school aren’t allowed to play kickball, dodgeball or anything else involving a big rubber sphere because it’s now considered “dangerous”.

Wonder what this show would be like today…or do I want to know?

What is the world coming to?  I don’t mean to sound like an old lady sitting with my cane and waving you off my lawn, but back when I was a kid I remember playing dodgeball up against a concrete wall, so when the ball hit your head your head automatically smacked into the wall.  It didn’t damage (too many) brain cells and I learned an important lesson in physics because of it.  We ran around on asphalt every single day and if we fell and started bleeding, we’d just show off our cool scab a few days later.  Are kids these days even allowed to get scabs?  Sure doesn’t seem like it.

I think I remember reading about schools banning running before but I guess my mind blocked it out as an unreasonable possibility.  Looks like I was wrong.  Where will this madness end?  When we’re sending our children out to play while wearing suits made of bubble-wrap?  You may laugh but it doesn’t seem so far off.  Some of my fondest elementary school memories stem from being the all-time roller on our kickball team (yes, I was that awesome) and it makes me sad that today’s kids have their noses shoved so far into their iPhones that they won’t get to play like they really should.  After sitting in a classroom for 8 hours a day, don’t they deserve a break?  I think it would do wonders for their mental functioning not to mention their health for a group of kids to run off all the steam they’ve acquired sitting at a desk.  Hell, now that I think about it, grown-ups should have a recess from their workday, too. Why can’t this be an election issue?

Run, kids, run – while you still have the chance!

2 Comments

  1. ME said,

    I used to love that cartoon (well beyond the “acceptable” age). Actually, Recess the cartoon did an episode where the school board did away with recess all together. All the kids became lethargic and twitchy after several weeks of it. Later rather than sooner, the school realized that the lack of recess was really negatively impacting the kids so they reinstated it but had to call it Recess (pronounced reck-ess). Just thought I’d drop that little factoid.

    P.S. There are some schools here that have a “no running” rule on school property. So dumb.

    • webpaige said,

      YES! I don’t remember that episode but it sounds like a good one. Kids these days…

Leave a Reply

