Long Live the Queen!

June 6, 2012 at 11:11 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


I may not know a ton about British monarchies and their politics but I’ve been semi-following the Queen of England’s Diamond Jubilee nonetheless.  Paul McCartney and other various British stars performed a concert last night in front of Buckingham Palace and I couldn’t help but watch in awe of the woman who has been the Queen of England for the last 60 years got on stage with the rock star and something like ten billion other people.  I think she was probably ready for tea, a crumpet and her slippers but she held up like a trooper.  To be honest, I don’t know much about what her job entails but I assume it has a lot to do with upholding traditions and making decisions, all while wearing a stylish hat.  Apparently the last Diamond Jubilee was held in 1897 and this is only the second one in the nation’s history so it’s kind of like the eclipse of Venus from last night – the event only happens once every lifetime or so.

60 years is nothing to laugh at!

I was lucky enough to spend some time in London many years ago and I was impressed with the history of everything that surrounded me.  I, like so many, am vaguely fascinated by The Royal Family (and I still remember exactly where I was when I heard that Princess Di had been in an accident) and their entire way of life is so foreign to what I know that of course the anthropologist in me is interested.  I’m sure there are many pros and cons to having a ruling monarch but I don’t want to get into a detailed history lesson here today.  Instead, I’d just like to extend some warm wishes for the woman who has been the face of her nation for so long.  Congrats to the Queen!

 

Leave a Reply

