Aaaaand Back

May 30, 2012 at 12:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Man, the first day back to work after a vacation is always a drag.  It doesn’t help when your vacation consists of great quality time with family you only see once (maybe twice) a year, lounging by a pool with sweet tea in hand, exploring a haunted antebellum home and traipsing through the French Quarter with two of you favorite people.  All in all, the entire vacation was a success and since Scott managed to hold his own on both his first plane ride and his first encounter with my father, I couldn’t have come home happier.  Unless I didn’t have to come home at all, that is.

I did not take this but we shall pretend I did.

Like most people, I could use a vacation from my vacation.  Thankfully I had yesterday off to recuperate but having to clean the apartment, do laundry, make a Target run and go to a mammogram appointment to get my boob completely squished and squashed (just routine, no worries) before trying to make a healthy dinner that would override the week of fried food and pizza I’d been consuming took a lot out of me.  It’s a hard knock life for a vegetarian in the deep South, that’s for sure.  I managed to accomplish everything on my list but my nap and I’m definitely feeling that today.  Luckily, the work week is more than half way over and I can get in some much needed bonding time with my couch this weekend.

As I mentioned, the trip went better than I could have hoped (well, except for the old man in front of us on the flight back who let out some of the most disgusting-smelling farts known to man…seriously, the flight attendant ended up spraying something as she was gagging down the aisle) and I miss my southern family already.  In a strange twist, the temperature upon returning to Chicago was just as warm and humid as it was when we left New Orleans so it was almost like we never left.  Almost.  Arriving in an apartment that was roughly 95 degrees at 11:30 pm Monday night after navigating trains and planes (no automobiles) wasn’t exactly fun but it did make me all the more thankful for central AC.  And ice cream.  And for the fact that our long-haired cat hadn’t melted through the floor.

More trip highlights to come, just as soon as I can recuperate a bit more.

Leave a Reply

