Glad That’s Over

May 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


Well NATO came and went and the city of Chicago still stands.  Luckily, I didn’t have to deal with too much of anything and other than seeing way more cops around than usual, my schedule wasn’t really disturbed.  Which was nice, because after I spent the weekend running errands for my aunt/helping to prep my cousin’s graduation party/eating/drinking/generally being merry, I didn’t have the will power or the patience to put up with a bunch of people in my way.

Ahhh

Apparently my busy weekend also compromised my immune system, as I haven’t been feeling all that swell since I woke up yesterday morning.  You know that feeling when you swallow and it’s as if your throat is made of razor blades?  Yup, definitely had that.  My ears are kind of plugged as well but I’ve been on a steady diet of tea, Vitamin C and soup so hopefully I can knock whatever this is completely out before it gets the better of me.  Scott and I leave for Louisiana on Thursday so I definitely want to be feeling better by then.  I’m actually slightly better today (though that could be from the cold medicine I downed a couple of hours ago) and I plan on getting major rest tonight so hopefully that’ll be that.

It doesn’t help that I’m re-reading The Stand right now.  For those of you not in the know, this is a Steven King book that begins with a crazy, secretly government-created flu-like virus that hits the general public and begins killing faster than the Bubonic Plague.  Symptoms begin with sneezing, coughing and lots of snot, which is exactly what I’ve currently got.  I know that it’s just a book and all but still…my timing could’ve been better.

Now to drink some more tea and float in my medicine induced fog…

Leave a Reply

