Mellow Yellow

May 16, 2012 at 11:27 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Yellow has always been my favorite color (though there was brief time in middle school where I said it was green but I think I was just trying to be cool and I always felt a little guilty towards yellow when I said it).  I attribute this to the yellow blanket I was brought home from the hospital in, the same yellow blanket that I still sleep with every night.  Yes, really.  Anyway, yellow apparently isn’t a very common favorite color and I’ve probably only ever met 2 or 3 people who’ve agreed with me that it’s the most pleasing to the eyes.  I don’t really wear it or use it to decorate (and I think the soda Mello Yellow takes like cat urine…or what I imagine cat urine would taste like) but the color itself makes me happy in ways I can’t quite explain.  So you can imagine the smile on my face when I sat down on this train car one day last week:

Please ignore the girl in the right hand corner who is clearly perplexed by my photo taking.

Thank you, Tropicana.  This picture doesn’t fully do the train car justice but every surface, both inside and out, was bright yellow.  Sure, it was an overly blatant marketing scheme but it still brightened up my day (haha see what I did there?) and so I didn’t mind it one bit.  I’ve seen these random one or two fully yellow cars on the tracks for a month or so now but hadn’t managed to catch one until last week.  It’s a little over the top but as far as brand recognition goes it does the trick.  And it brought a smile to my face.  As someone who was trekking home from a hard work out after an even harder day of work, it was just what I needed.  And while I might not go out and buy Tropicana any time soon, their ploy worked well enough that I blogged about it so I guess that counts for something!

Leave a Reply

