Bunnies Gone Wild

April 6, 2012 at 11:53 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


In honor of Easter weekend, I’d like to retell a story from my childhood (or more accurately, my teenage years).  I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here before but I’m a bit too lazy to check so forgive me if it sounds familiar.

Once upon a time, I was a freshman in high school.  One day a large group of girls and I decided to hang out at the mall after school.

Cute, cuddly and a criminal accomplice.

This was around Easter time and there was one of those grown men stuffed in a bunny costume that had a display set up for children to sit on his lap and take photos.  Seeing as how the mall was relatively empty and no children were around, the group of girls and I decided to have our own photos taken with the bunny (I have this picture someplace but not handy enough to post).  Looking back, I’m sure having a group of 10 or so giggly teenage girls sit on his lap made his day in a rather perverted way but that’s not something our innocent minds thought of at the time.  What we did think of was how cool it would be to get our ears pierced at the Claire’s Accessories store facing the bunny photo op display.  But seeing as how we were so underage, we would need someone older to sign for us.  At this point the “us” became “me” because I was the only one dumb/daring/foolish enough to move forward with the plan.

This is where the bunny came in handy.  Surely he was overage.

We asked him if he could sign for me to get my cartilage pierced (you know, the little hoop at the top of the ear) and he (staying in character) nodded his head and hopped followed us across the mall.  I guess he was friends with the girl working because she laughed a bit but let him sign for me to have a permanent hole put into my flesh.  I thought it looked great, we all got a kick out of it and then our gang (sans bunny) went to Red Lobster to eat biscuits and pretend it was our birthdays so as to score some free cake.

God teenagers are obnoxious.

Anyway later that night a friend and I realized I would need to formulate a cover story to feed my parents regarding my newly acquired jewelery.  I called my mom and told her that my friend had been piercing ears for a while and had just done mine and I was going to keep it.  Yeah, that went over well.  I was instructed that my new hoop had better be removed before walking in the door or that Mom would do it for me.  This was not an appealing idea so out the earring came.

What a waste of $16.

In hindsight, I’m not sure being honest with my mom about the Easter Bunny signing for my ear piercing would’ve helped my case much and I’m not even sure she would have believed it.  I don’t think I’ve since told her this story but if I haven’t I’m sure to hear about it when Scott and I go home this weekend (Hi, Mom!).  I’ve since had the ear re-pierced and that earring is there to stay.  But it won’t change the fact that the first go-round was accomplished with the help of a fictional entity.

What, don’t you believe me?

 

Leave a Reply

