Reunited and It Feels So Good!

April 4, 2012 at 11:29 am (Uncategorized) (, , )


One of the unfortunate side effects of growing up is losing contact with some of the people you used to see every single day.  It’s so strange how we take that for granted.  From the little girl we used to share snack cakes with in kindergarten to the dorm-mate who let us drink their smuggled beer, certain friendships fall by the wayside as time goes by.  Sure, Facebook and other social media allows us to stay in better contact than we used to (especially if you want to know the color of the new sheets the kid who sat behind you in freshman year math class recently bought) but it also creates a gap that’s sometimes hard to bridge.  I’ve known a few people who, for one reason or another, seem to disappear from the face of the earth – despite their frequent Facebook updates.  I recently reached out to one such friend (she may or may not still read this blog, who knows) and we’ve been able to email back and forth this week catching up.  The reasons we stopped chatting so much aren’t really important to either of us because the fact that we can pick up where we left off is what matters the most.  I’ve had quite a few friendships like that – we may go months or even years without really speaking or hanging out but when we do it’s like no time has passed at all.  This is both good and bad because while it’s nice to have such strong and comfortable relationships, it’s not always easy to remember that we’re no longer 12 or 22.  Regardless, I’m glad when we have the chance to renew our presence in each others lives.

So true.

Am I even making any sense?  It’s one of those days.  I think what I’m trying to convey is that while I have formerly close friends now flung all around the country, I still think of them daily and consider them to be a part of my life even if we’re not in constant contact.  I hope they feel the same way about me.  I’m just so glad I’ve renewed one such friendship and it makes my heart happy knowing that this particular person is doing well.  I would love to see more of all of them but until I win that lottery, simply spending my days traveling and visiting will have to wait.

Still, I’m thankful they’re out there and I hope they know it.

 

Leave a Reply

