Introducing The Dude

February 28, 2012 at 1:25 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Please join me in welcoming the newest addition to our household, The Dude.  For those of you unfamiliar, The Dude is a character in The Big Lebowski, a film about bowling and someone pissing on a rug.  Actually it’s about a lot more than that but if you’ve never seen it I’m not going to try to explain because it’s a little…complicated.  It is a Cohen Brothers film, after all.  Anyway, The Dude (His Dudeness, or uh, Duder, or El Duderino if you’re not into the whole brevity thing) is the lead character and he’s incredibly laid back and takes things as they go.  Our kitty was a lot like this on his first few days with us, hence the name (well, that and it’s fun saying “DUDE!” when he’s doing something he shouldn’t, like scratching the couch).  So I give you The Dude:

Hello Kitty

As I mentioned after my birthday, we brought this new kitty into our home.  He’s a four-year old Himalayan who was found wandering the mean streets of Chicago.  We technically fostered him for two weeks but after a few days with us, we knew we didn’t want to let him go.  It was bittersweet bringing a new pet into the apartment but I’m so glad that we have him.  He came to us with stinky breath and matted fur but the good people at PAWS took care of all that and he’s now shorn like a sheep and his breath smells as it should, like cat food.

We shaved him to take care of the matted fur and were planning on letting it grow back per usual but to be honest, we kind of dig this shorter look.  There’s less cat hair floating around and as someone who technically has a dander allergy, less hair is okay by me.  I can snuggle with him more without wanting to scratch out my eyeballs, at least.  We’ll see what happens as it grows back in but we’ve been enjoying teasing him and petting the soft locks he has left behind.  In case you can’t tell here, he has bright blue eyes that are really very pretty.  He’s a good-looking cat in general, if I do say so myself (like I birthed him or something).  He’s gotten much more comfortable at the apartment and can be found sleeping with us at night and following us around like a shadow during the day.

Now if I could just train him to make me breakfast and bring my slippers when I walk in from work, we’d be set!

1 Comment

  1. LAJ said,

    I, now, know all about shaved cats. It’s also good so they don’t poop on their butt hair. Hey, I just keep it real.

Leave a Reply

