Green with Envy…or Alcohol Poisoning

February 16, 2012 at 10:12 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


So my mom flew down to New Orleans yesterday for her third Mardi Gras adventure in the past four years.  Am I jealous?  Why yes, yes I am.

I’m trying not to be because I get to go to New Orleans on a regular basis and have even been in that area during a Mardi Gras myself.  Sure, I fifteen and couldn’t fully partake in the debauchery (though I managed a bit) but I did get to at least experience the atmosphere.  And to be honest I’m not entirely sure I’d want to be down there right now anyway because the older I get, the more I tend to dislike large, drunken crowds.  I’m sure I’ll go to The Big Easy for The Big Party at some point or another but for now I”ll have to settle for living vicariously through Mom.

I think I found Waldo

To be fair, she deserves a little fun and relaxation and the gal pal she’s reveling with will help her find just that.  Mom actually had a layover here in Chicago last night and while I wish I could’ve gone and had a beer with her while she waited, I had to settle for a vague wave and a text message instead.  But she made it safely and it looks like the temperature there is 72 degrees today so I’m happy for her.  And cold myself.  But not as cold as I usually am because it’s seasonably warm here this winter.  Still, I’m stuck in a cubicle all week while she wanders the French Quarter and there just seems to be a slight injustice in that.

Oh, well.  If I know her, she’ll at least have a drink for me!

Leave a Reply

